---
title: "FINMA approves Switzerland's first retail spot Bitcoin ETF"
description: "Switzerland's financial regulator FINMA has approved the country's first spot bitcoin ETF for retail investors, The Block reported. Cointelegraph reported that FINMA cited growing appetite for cryptocurrency investments and said multiple fund providers have submitted Bitcoin ETF applications. The…"
language: en
canonical: "https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-swiss-regulator-finma-approves-country-6a9a84277c84c7"
published: 2026-10-20T12:17:02.000Z
updated: 2026-10-20T14:03:01.000Z
indexable: true
---

# FINMA approves Switzerland's first retail spot Bitcoin ETF

Switzerland's financial regulator FINMA has approved the country's first spot bitcoin ETF for retail investors, The Block reported. Cointelegraph reported that FINMA cited growing appetite for cryptocurrency investments and said multiple fund providers have submitted Bitcoin ETF applications. The…

Attributed sources: [The Block](<https://www.theblock.co/news/regulation/2026-10-20-swiss-regulator-finma-approves-countrys-first-spot-bitcoin-etf-for-retail-investors-421127>), [Cointelegraph](<https://cointelegraph.com/news/finma-approves-switzerlands-first-bitcoin-etf-retail>)

## Key facts

Switzerland's financial regulator FINMA has approved the country's first spot bitcoin ETF for retail investors, The Block reported. Cointelegraph reported that FINMA cited growing appetite for cryptocurrency investments and said multiple fund providers have submitted Bitcoin ETF applications. The approval follows earlier crypto ETP listings in the country and a fund previously restricted to qualified investors, according to The Block.
Evidence strength: Multiple publishers, 2 publisher group(s) (The Block, Cointelegraph); this describes source coverage, not truth or causation.
After site detection, observed returns were 5 minutes: +0.20% (20/10/2026, 12:18 → 20/10/2026, 12:23, UTC; Gate · USDT); 1 hour: +0.03% (20/10/2026, 12:18 → 20/10/2026, 13:18, UTC; Gate · USDT). Unlisted windows are unavailable.
In the preceding 30 days, the 99th percentile of absolute hourly returns was 1.23% (OKX · USDT; cutoff 20/10/2026, 12:17, UTC). This hourly baseline is not directly comparable with a minute move.

## Returns after site detection

| Window | Return | BTC | Difference from BTC | Actual sampled interval (UTC) | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 5 minutes | +0.20% | +0.20% | 0.00 pp | 20/10/2026, 12:18 → 20/10/2026, 12:23 | Gate · USDT |
| 1 hour | +0.03% | +0.03% | 0.00 pp | 20/10/2026, 12:18 → 20/10/2026, 13:18 | Gate · USDT |
| 24 hours | — | — | — | — | — |

## Historical hourly baseline

| Metric | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Ready | true |
| Coverage | 100.0% (720/720) |
| Median absolute hourly return | 0.15% |
| 99th percentile of absolute hourly returns | 1.23% |
| BTC beta | 1.00 |
| Source / cutoff (UTC) | OKX · USDT / 20/10/2026, 12:17 |

## Claims and open questions

- The Block reported that FINMA approved Switzerland's first retail bitcoin ETF, after earlier crypto ETP listings and a fund limited to qualified investors.
- Cointelegraph reported that FINMA cited growing appetite for cryptocurrency investments and said multiple fund providers have submitted Bitcoin ETF applications.
- Which fund provider received the retail approval and under what structure is not specified in the reports; a FINMA statement or fund filing would confirm it.
- The startup date and listing venue for the approved retail bitcoin ETF are not stated; an exchange notice or issuer announcement would confirm them.
- How many additional Bitcoin ETF applications are pending before FINMA is not quantified; an official FINMA list would confirm the count.

## Source evidence

- [Swiss regulator FINMA approves country’s first spot bitcoin ETF for retail investors](<https://www.theblock.co/news/regulation/2026-10-20-swiss-regulator-finma-approves-countrys-first-spot-bitcoin-etf-for-retail-investors-421127>) — The Block; published 20/10/2026, 12:15; received 20/10/2026, 12:17 (UTC).
- [FINMA approves Switzerland’s first Bitcoin ETF for retail investors](<https://cointelegraph.com/news/finma-approves-switzerlands-first-bitcoin-etf-retail>) — Cointelegraph; published 20/10/2026, 13:04; received 20/10/2026, 13:17 (UTC).


## Recent BTC events and market reactions

- [JPMorgan Asset Management forecasts 10% annual bitcoin returns over next decade](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-jpmorgan-projects-bitcoin-outperform-us-c932dce1ad6a8d>) — Published 20/10/2026, 08:54 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 5m -0.09% / 1h -0.07%
- [AnchorWatch opens Nevada trust company for bitcoin custody with fees capped at $10,000 a month](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-anchorwatch-launches-nevada-trust-company-7d7703ba650e95>) — Published 19/10/2026, 22:28 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 5m +0.11% / 1h +0.08%
- [BlackRock files for buffer Bitcoin ETF as IBIT draws $665M in a day](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-8a04a927f96ab9>) — Published 20/10/2026, 05:39 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (4 publishers) · Market watch · 1h -0.12%
- [Strategy buys 267 bitcoin for $22.1 million and repurchases $193.1 million of STRC](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-a8e56e82aac2a7>) — Published 19/10/2026, 12:30 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 1h -0.20%
- [Strive buys 4,045 BTC for about $335 million as warrant exercises bring in $369 million](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/events/bitcoin-1bbd0465c7c40d>) — Published 19/10/2026, 21:46 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 1h -0.27%
- [Full coin archive](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/coins/bitcoin>)

## Research for this archive

- [Bitcoin institutional adoption: CME, spot ETFs and SPY correlation](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/research/bitcoin-market-structure-and-institutional-access.md>)
- [XRP lawsuit and Ethereum ETFs: reading SEC filings and rulings](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/research/regulatory-filings-versus-media-headlines.md>)
- [Does crypto news move prices or follow them? A timestamp audit](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/research/announcement-timestamps-and-causality.md>)
- [ONDO and RWA tokenization: does growth benefit token holders?](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/research/ondo-rwa-growth-and-token-rights.md>)

[Methods and limitations](<https://whycoinmoves.com/en/methodology>)
Publisher count is not independent evidence count. Price changes cannot verify news or prove causation.
