Strategy buys 267 BTC, lifting October purchases to $73 million
Bitcoin Magazine reported that Strategy bought another 267 BTC last week for slightly more than $22 million, according to a Monday filing, bringing its holdings to 848,517 coins it valued at $69.5 billion at then-current prices. The report said October purchases totaled $73 million, and that the company also repurchased $193.1 million of its STRC preferred stock.
2 independent publishers report it (copies of the same text count once); they may still rely on one underlying source. An official source would raise it.
core coin BTC · 2 publishers
No time pressure
Three separate rule-based signals. None is the probability that the report is true. How they work ↗
Key facts
Attributed sources: Decrypt Bitcoin Magazine
BTC after this site detected it
- 5 minutes-0.00%Gate · USDT
- 1 hour+0.45%Gate · USDT
- 24 hours—Window not complete
Claims and open questions
What sources claim
- According to a Monday filing cited by Bitcoin Magazine, Strategy bought 267 BTC for slightly more than $22 million, bringing its holdings to 848,517 bitcoin.
- Bitcoin Magazine reported that Strategy has spent $73 million on bitcoin so far in October, including a prior purchase of 250 BTC for $22 million.
- The same filing showed Strategy repurchased $193.1 million of its STRC preferred stock, per Bitcoin Magazine.
Still unresolved
- Whether Strategy disclosed the average purchase price per coin in the filing, and what that figure was, is not stated.
- The filing's exact date and identity (form type and regulator) are not specified beyond being called a Monday filing.
- Whether Strategy has commented on the MSCI proposal to classify non-operating companies as ineligible for its indexes is not reported.
Model-assisted explanation; citations, numbers and output format are checked. This is not independent semantic verification.
Source evidence
decrypt.co
Published 20/10/2026, 16:17 · Received 20/10/2026, 16:19
bitcoinmagazine.com
Published 19/10/2026, 16:14 · Received 20/10/2026, 16:20
Original source titles remain in their source language. Full articles are not republished.
Market reaction after detection
Returns start at the sample closest to site detection (within the same minute up to 10 minutes later), using the same data source and quote currency. Actual sample times are shown; missing observations remain blank.
| Window | Return | Actual sampled interval / source |
|---|---|---|
| 5 minutes | -0.00% | 20/10/2026, 16:19 → 20/10/2026, 16:24 (UTC) Gate · USDT |
| 1 hour | +0.45% | 20/10/2026, 16:19 → 20/10/2026, 17:19 (UTC) Gate · USDT |
| 24 hours | — | Awaiting a complete valid window |
Historical market context
Research: hourly returns and BTC beta →
Closed hourly candles from the 30 days before this event observation. Different venues are kept separate.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Hourly coverage | 100.0% (720/720) |
| Median absolute 1h return | 0.15% |
| 99th percentile of absolute 1h returns | 1.23% |
OKX · USDT · Context as of 20/10/2026, 16:19 · Last included candle closed 20/10/2026, 16:00
Hourly descriptive statistics, not minute-move probabilities. Backfilled history never moves the observation cutoff above.
Event timeline
Source publication, receipt and analysis times are separate. All times UTC.
Source published: Bitcoin Magazine
Source published: Decrypt
Source received: Decrypt
Event first detected by this site
Evidence record updated
Source received: Bitcoin Magazine
Additional source received; evidence recalculated
English explanation generated
Latest content update
Recent BTC events and market reactions
- FINMA approves Switzerland's first retail spot Bitcoin ETF [Multiple publishers · Published 20/10/2026, 12:15 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · Regulation · 5m +0.20% / 1h +0.03%]
- JPMorgan Asset Management issues first bitcoin return forecast: 10% base case annually [Multiple publishers · Published 20/10/2026, 08:54 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (4 publishers) · General news · 5m -0.09% / 1h -0.07%]
- AnchorWatch opens Nevada trust company for bitcoin custody with fees capped at $10,000 a month [Multiple publishers · Published 19/10/2026, 22:28 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 5m +0.11% / 1h +0.08%]
- BlackRock files for buffered Bitcoin ETF as IBIT logs $665.2 million single-day inflow [Multiple publishers · Published 20/10/2026, 05:39 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (5 publishers) · Market watch · 1h -0.12%]
- Strategy buys 267 bitcoin for $22.1 million and repurchases $193.1 million of STRC [Multiple publishers · Published 19/10/2026, 12:30 (UTC) · Multiple publishers (2 publishers) · General news · 1h -0.20%]